Named after St Fillan whose name means ‘little wolf’ who was an 8th century Irish priest, St. Fillans can be found on the eastern shores of Loch Earn, in the far western corners of Strathearn. The village was established in the 19th century by the Drummond Family, previously it was known as Port of Lochearn or Meikleport and was a small clachan, comprising of little more than a few thatched cottages.
The five mile journey between St.Fillans and Comrie is widely thought of as one of the most scenic and beautiful routes in Scotland.
Loch Earn castle once stood on an island adjacent to St. Fillans, this was a once a stronghold of the MacNeishes from 1250 until the mid 15th century, although now only its ruins are left.
Loch Earn is famed for being Scotland’s most important centres for inland watersports. St Fillans is also a popular location for fishing. Other attractions include a large sailing club, watersports centre, caravan park and a golf course. The golf course, with its relatively smooth terrain, is popular with golfing beginners, however still proves to be a challenge for the experts! It is, for example, Sandy Lyle’s favourite inland course in Scotland.
Heading east out of St. Fillans towards the golf course, you’ll come to St. Fillans chapel. The chapel has been the resting place of the clan Stewart of Ardvorlich and has been associated with the birth of their most famous chief, Major James Stewart – or the Mad Major, as he came to be known. He is the hero of Sir Walter Scott’s ‘A Legend of Montrose’ (under the name of Allan M’Auley). And his is the second inscription on the Ardvorlich headstone at St. Fillans chapel.
St. Fillans has the following facilities
Explore St. Fillans
Use the search feature below to explore accommodations, activities, attractions, and places to eat and drink, in and around St. Fillans.